Tags

It starts with a flash of intense hot pain, immediately I visualise this as a comet, eye-blinding white heat at its core and a corona of searing acheyness furiously passing beneath my scapula and across my shoulder.

A crunchy awareness of my nerves tingles through the muscle groups in my arm arriving at numbness in three of my fingers and then my arm goes dead.

Week 8 with a trapped nerve beneath my scapula and I can’t get through morning gongyo without meds. My routine is to open eyes, see the ceiling not the window, register surprise that I’m laying on my back, acknowledge the ache and plan my next ten moves. Kitchen, kettle on, Toilet, Bathroom, Kitchen, pour tea, fill hot water bottle, drink two Naproxen and lay back down. Exhale. Pain recedes and I get up for the day.

